Pilot and Tesla open first two heavy-duty truck charging sites
Travel centers in Georgia and California now offer Tesla Megacharger stalls for Class 8 EVs, marking the first public charging infrastructure built for long-haul electric trucks.

Where are the first Pilot-Tesla heavy-duty truck charging sites?
Pilot and Tesla opened heavy-duty electric truck charging sites at travel centers in Georgia and California in October 2026. The two locations mark the first public charging infrastructure specifically built for Class 8 electric trucks at Pilot's network of travel centers.
The sites deploy Tesla's Megacharger hardware, the same DC fast-charging system Tesla uses for its Semi fleet. Megachargers deliver up to 1 megawatt of power, enough to add roughly 400 miles of range in 30 minutes to a Tesla Semi. That charge rate is roughly ten times faster than the 150 kW DC fast chargers common at passenger-EV stations.
For fleets running electric Class 8 tractors, the Georgia and California sites represent the first attempt to replicate the diesel travel-center model for battery-electric trucks. Until now, most heavy-duty EV charging has happened at private depots or shipper facilities. Public charging infrastructure for long-haul electric trucks has been nearly nonexistent.
What this means for electric truck adoption
The lack of public charging has been a hard constraint on electric Class 8 adoption outside dedicated shuttle routes. A fleet running a Tesla Semi or Freightliner eCascadia on a fixed 200-mile loop can charge at the home terminal overnight. A fleet trying to run irregular lanes or backhauls has had no fallback if the truck arrives at destination with 10% state of charge and no charger on site.
Pilot operates more than 750 travel centers across North America. If the Georgia and California pilots prove viable, the company could roll out Megacharger stalls at additional locations along major freight corridors. That would give electric Class 8 trucks the same operational flexibility diesel tractors have today: the ability to refuel anywhere along the route, not just at pre-planned stops.
The timing aligns with Tesla's ramp of Semi production. Tesla delivered the first production Semis to PepsiCo in December 2022 and has been adding customer fleets slowly since. The company has not disclosed Semi production volume, but public sightings and customer announcements suggest fewer than 200 units delivered as of mid-2026. Opening public charging infrastructure now suggests Tesla expects Semi deliveries to accelerate in 2027.
Charging cost and availability unknowns
Pilot and Tesla have not disclosed pricing for Megacharger sessions or whether the stalls will be open to non-Tesla electric trucks. Tesla's Supercharger network for passenger EVs began as a Tesla-only system and only opened to other brands in select markets starting in 2023. If Megachargers follow the same path, fleets running Freightliner, Volvo, or Nikola electric Class 8 trucks will not be able to use the Pilot sites.
Charging cost will determine whether the sites pencil out for fleets. Diesel at a Pilot or Flying J runs roughly $0.20 to $0.40 per mile depending on fuel economy and retail price. If Megacharger sessions cost $1.50 to $2.00 per kWh (typical for DC fast charging), a Tesla Semi getting 1.7 kWh per mile would pay $2.55 to $3.40 per mile to charge. That is five to ten times the per-mile cost of diesel, which makes public charging a last-resort option rather than a routine refueling stop.
Fleets that have deployed electric yard tractors report depot charging costs of $0.50 to $0.80 per kWh when charging overnight on commercial utility rates. If Pilot can negotiate similar rates and pass savings through to customers, Megacharger sessions could approach diesel parity on a per-mile basis. Without disclosed pricing, fleets cannot yet model whether the infrastructure supports long-haul electric operations or just provides emergency top-ups.
What fleets need next
Two charging sites do not make a network. A fleet running the I-85 corridor between Atlanta and Charlotte, or the I-5 corridor between Los Angeles and Sacramento, would need Megacharger stalls every 200 to 250 miles to operate electric Class 8 trucks the way it operates diesel tractors today. That means at least a dozen sites per major lane, not two sites nationwide.
Pilot and Tesla have not announced a timeline for additional locations. Until they do, the Georgia and California sites function as proof-of-concept rather than operational infrastructure. Fleets considering electric Class 8 purchases in 2027 will still need to plan routes around depot charging and private shipper facilities, not public travel centers.





